Leftovers Biscuits

image

I was planing a peanut butter and chocolate cake for this weekend. Those are just my favourite ones. I wanted so much to combine them in a cake. It would be the cake from my dreams. But… it’s holiday today… here in Belgium that means- all shops closed. And that means no ingredients for my dream peanut butter cake. Well it must wait then.
But I have all day free, nothing to do, nowhere to go. I really want to bake something. Then I should try to do something with the products I have at home. And what I found in the kitchen was just enough to bake biscuits. And I know it’s a good thing to be modest but… those biscuits are the best I have have ever tried! Really!
Check out what I used for them:
350g of all-purpose flour
1 egg yolk
140g of powdered sugar
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
250g of unsalted butter at room t°
the zest of an orange
For the decoration I used some abricot marmalade and some cooking chocolate leftovers I found.
It is for around 12 big biscuits or 25 smaller.
Now… Preheat the oven at 160°C. Prepare your non stick pan. I put baking paper on the bottom just to be sure it won’t stick.
Take a big bowl and start mixing the butter and sugar. I did it with a spoon. When nice and creamy add the egg yolk and the vanilla extract. Mix again. Now add the orange zest. And finally start adding the flour. I add around 50g at a time and mix it. That way I’m sure the dough will be smooth. When finely mixed you should have a pretty sticky dough.
Now I decided to bake 2 different types of biscuits. Of course you can do them as you like. I separated my dough into two equal parts. Take the first one. Prepare your rolling pin, some flour for the working surface to prevent sticking and your marmalade. Oh yeah… also the form for cutting your biscuits. If you don’t have one you can use a glass. I remember doing it that way with my mother when I was a child. Roll out your dough around 1cm thick and cut. Now press every biscuit in the middle with your thumb and put there a little bit of the marmalade. Bake around 12 minutes, or till really light golden. After leave them to cool. But be careful when moving them because when marmalade is hot it’s too runny and you don’t want it to go all over your biscuit. You can also add some powdered sugar on top to make them even prettier.

image

Now put in the oven the second part of the dough. I left them simple, without marmalade. I prefer decorating them later with chocolate that I melted in the microwave for 1 minute.

image

And here we go… now let all your biscuits cool, prepare a cup of coffee or tea and enjoy!

image

Bon Appétit!
Christina

4 thoughts on “Leftovers Biscuits

Leave a comment