Strawberry and Pistachio Swiss Cake Roll

image

It’s been a while. I actually never stop baking. But lately I was baking again and again my favourite ones.
Last week saw a lot of tutorials about roll cakes so that inspired me to bake one. Never did a roll cake before. But I love them. Well… never tried a homemade roll cake. But you can find a good one in the bakeries or the grocery shops.
Today I did one. Actually I am really surprised how quick and easy it was. A little disappointed in fact. I like challenges. Of course the result is a delicious homemade dessert.
Now if you want to try my recipe for it you won’t need to go shopping. It is really simple one.
Here is what you need.
For the sponge:
4 eggs at room t°
120g granulated sugar
1 teaspoon boiling water
60g of all-purpose flour
1/3 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
For the filling:
3/4 cup whipping cream
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
70g powdered sugar
4-5 tablespoons strawberry jam
For the topping chop around 50g of pistachios.
Now preheat the oven at 170°C. Grease and cover with baking paper a baking pan. Mine is 27×36cm and around 1,5-2cm high.
Let’s first separate the egg whites and the egg yolks in two bowls.
Mix the yolks and add the half of the sugar to them (60g). Mix it again and add the almond extract and the water. Of course if you prefer you can use vanilla. But I am in love with the almond extract so I use it everywhere 😀 Mix till homogenous. Then sift in there the flour and the baking powder. Mix again till all the flour is incorporated. Put it aside.
In the bowl with the egg whites add the cream of tartar and start mixing. Add the sugar gradually. Mix till soft peaks start forming.

image

Add about 1/3 of the egg whites in the batter and mix carefully with a wooden spoon. When homogenous add the rest and mix it again. Try to keep as much as volume as you can.
Pour the batter in the pan and bake between 10-13 minutes.
Here I will share with you a new trick I’ve learned about 10 days ago. And it really changed my life… or ok… not my life but at least I don’t cut my fingers with the bread knife anymore(it happened to me 2-3 times in the past and believe me it hurts!) Yes… the trick- when you put out your cake from the oven, cover with clean towel and press it gently with some flat surface for about 30 seconds. And it’s done- perfectly flat cake! Do you know what it means?!- No more trimming. Cake is perfectly leveled for 30 seconds!
Now you can try it right now with this one and use it in the future.
Now… put a sheet of baking paper to cover your cake, then a clean towel and turn it around. Be careful. You don’t want it ti break.
When cake is out you need to roll it. Make it carefully and tightly. Then pack it with the towel and let it cool for around 10 minutes.

image

image

Meanwhile you can prepare the filling. Pour the whipping cream, powdered sugar and extract in a bowl and mix several minutes till cream is thick enough.

image

Roll out the sponge carefully. Spread generously some cream and strawberry jam.

image

Roll it again. Cover with the rest of the cream and spread the chopped pistachios. Trim the two ends of the roll if you need to. But do it gently. 

image

Let it rest at least 1 hour in the fridge before serving.
Enjoy!

Bon Appétit!
Christina

Leave a comment